Attract Prosperity with These Words from a Champion Poker Player

Daniel didn’t even realize he was providing a mantra to live life by

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.
7 min readMay 30, 2023
Photo by Denner Nunes on Pexels

It’s perfectly fine to look for life advice in the usual places. Self-improvement books, for example. Or personal development articles on this very platform.

Wisdom is everywhere, though. It’s all around you. You just have to keep your eyes and ears finely tuned so you don’t miss it.

From 2009 to 2011, I played a lot of poker online on websites like PokerStars and Full Tilt Poker. For much of that time, I lost more than I won, which is the case with most hobbyists who play the game.

But I believed in myself. I knew I had the potential to become a winning player. I hoped to turn online poker into a side hustle that supplemented my full-time income.

And I was willing to invest in myself.

Daniel Negreanu was my favorite professional poker player to watch on TV. He had made millions of dollars in poker tournaments, both face-to-face and online. Daniel had won multiple bracelets in World Series of Poker events. Importantly, he was relatable. He was one heck of a nice guy.

--

--

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.

I write about writing, ideas, creativity, homelessness, intuition, spirituality, life lessons. Ex-college teacher Twitter: @paulryburn