The Mistake I Was Making as a Writer

Have you been making it too?

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.
5 min readMar 28, 2021
question marks, and kid holding his hands over his face as though he made a mistake
Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

Writers, have you ever had a week when you failed to meet your self-made goals? The kind of week when, yes, unexpected events did come up, but nevertheless, you didn’t handle your business as well as you would have liked?

I can relate. Last week was that kind of week for me. It was the first Sunday-Saturday calendar week of 2021 in which I didn’t publish at least 5 times. Granted, it was an unusual week. I got an opening to get my first COVID vaccine shot. A friend came to town. We had an urgent situation at my part-time job that I had to act on quickly.

Despite all those distractions, I don’t feel like I gave writing the attention it deserved. This morning I decided to break out my journal notebook and look into my mindset. I’m reporting my findings in case they can help other writers.

I’m extremely lucky with respect to my job situation. I have a part-time job at a law firm right down the street from the building where I live. From 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Monday-Friday I do case research work there, and it pays well enough that I have the rest of my week free to focus on writing.

When I first started writing professionally, it took me about 50 hours a week to come up with 5 solid articles. As my writing muscle has developed, I’ve reduced…

--

--

Paul Ryburn, M.Sc.

I write about writing, ideas, creativity, homelessness, intuition, spirituality, life lessons. Ex-college teacher Twitter: @paulryburn